ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Help with Oil Paints!

Help with Oil Paints!

I don't know if this is the right part of the forum, but anyway...

I'm not that good with oil paints. And I want ideas and help. My mum says that if I paint something good enough, she'll print it out and get it framed. I want to draw a landscape. I'm okay with sketches, if I need it, but when I see pictures that people have drawn, well, they're amazing. The attention to detail and whatnot.

Should I do a really small brush to do the colouring or should I make it large?
    How do I plan out shading/lighting well?
    Are there any ideas of what to draw?

But most importantly...

Are there any good palettes I could possibly use to help me paint a really good landscape?

P.S. I use a Bamboo Fun tablet, I'm not sure what size, but when I bought it, it said 'Medium'.

Thank you very much.
    The story of us
    looks a lot like a
    TRADGEDY
    now.

Doesn't matter what tablet you have - it's how good you are with it (It does take a bit of practice to get used to drawing easily with it, of course).
    And the Bamboo Fun's one a lot of people here have. I think mine is, actually.

I would say start smallish, at a size you feel comfortable with - if you want to print it, *and your computer can handle it* (my last one couldn't really) set the canvas to 1000 or 2000 pixels (square or long or tall is up to you!)

And change the DPI setting to 300 - tells the printer how much detail to print

Make your first one, or three for fun and practice. If one starts becoming amazing, then keep going with it (I tend to start about five paintings and finish one!)
    For drawing... well, ArtRage does sunsets very well - throw some red and yellow and pink on and mix it up!
    DON'T be afraid to draw a bit - then change the whole shape or picture.