ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Interaction between different tools and media

Interaction between different tools and media

Newbie here,
    I am still in evaluation mode before I make a purchase.

From what I've seen, the tools and behaviors in AR are spot on for the most part. Has anyone noticed that if you lay down paint first and then try to work pencil over it that it behaves as would in the real world, or does the pencil actually stick to the wet paint?

Also, is there a method of selecting a portion of the painting and moving it to a new layer?

Thanks!
    David

Gallery
    View images
    Hello newbie...welcome to the addictive world of ArtRage!!! I am fairly new myself but I've been playing around with it for almost two months now. I can tell you that pen/pencil over paint does indeed work on the same layer. You may have to use more pressure with the pencil tool if you have to go over thick paint.

I don't believe there is currently any "crop" tool for just a portion of a layer. At least I haven't found it! You can duplicate a layer or copy a layer to the clipboard (to paste into another painting or whatever) but that's about it. From what I do and from what I see from others in this forum, you need to simply draw or paint each subject matter or section of your painting into individual layers. You can then adjust each accordingly especially using the transform option which allows you to actually move, enlarge or reposition for each particular layer. If you have Photoshop, you can crop your painting there and then import the saved image into a new layer of your painting.

I hope this helps somewhat and maybe someone else knows another way of "cropping" a portion of a layer using ArtRage. Good luck!
    Last edited by Eileen724; 05-16-2009 at 09:11 AM.

Gallery
    View images