ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Convert to vector?

Gallery
    View images

Convert to vector?

I have a customer who wants to print one of my pictures on a T-Shirt. The T-Shirt printer asked if I could give him a vector drawing.

So, here I am...is there an easy way to convert an Art Rage drawing to a vector drawing?

I have at my disposal, 1) the original pic in Art Rage(obviously), 2) Adobe PhotoShop 7.0, 3)Adobe CS2 and 4)Paint Shop Pro 9.

I'm not sure if I can export the pic as like a TIFF or PNG and then convert the layers to vectors etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Little_John; 04-29-2009 at 08:59 AM.
    J. Little
    I'm no artist, just a junkie with a pencil...
    --------------------------------------------------
    You can check out my photography on...
    http://www.anganjohnphoto.com
    ---------------------------------------------------

Gallery
    View images
    From the programs you've listed so far, it sounds like the only images you'll be able to produce are raster graphics. You'd need a program like Adobe Illustrator to create a true vector image (I've seen other members here list some free vector programs as well, but I'm unfamiliar with them).

Even with the proper program it's not usually a simple "open image and covert" sort of process. Raster graphics are made up of pixels, while vector graphics are rendered using lines, arcs, and points. While some programs allow you to make conversions, the results are often not exactly what one would hope for (at least from my experiences with it). To learn more on the differences you may find these links helpful: Raster Graphics and Vector Graphics.