ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Planets?

Question Planets?

I am new to ArtRage and am enjoying the software very much. I am trying to create a scene in space and am struggling with making the planets 3d. I have tried a few stencils but my "planet" still seems flat. If anyone has any suggestions I would be very grateful and when I finally finish the piece I will acknowledge all those that have helped.

Many Thanks, a frustrated but eager ArtRager.

Welcome 3gbunny.

First of all planets are a very cool subject.... i hope your show your work when your finished!

Some tricks.
    -Use the stencils as you already did.
    -Use the same stencil as you did for the planet also for the atmosphere...just scale it a little bit!
    -Use different layers if you can, for body & atmosphere, and you can finally merge all planet layers together and move the planet around if you want
    -Check where your sun (or another star) is and check the lighting. For that check varous pictures of phases of the moon or other planets..
    -And well make it interessting by showing the planet in a phase between full and hidden... or just show a part of it. i've done this only in artrage... and i can give you some more tips if you want or in special

greez & happy painting

maror
    M.Siegrist

Artrage 2.6 & Wacom Intuos 3 A5
    XP SP2

Thumbs up Thanks

Thanks for the advise Maror - Could you direct me to any "planet" stencils as I am merely using smoke, gradients and circles?

hehe...you wanna a finished planet stencil?

i think the only two wich are necessary are the circle and the ruler...the rest you cann paint by yourself...wich is more fun i can tell you

but here how i set up: