Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Maternity pic to paint using Starter Edition

Arrow Maternity pic to paint using Starter Edition

Hello

I am a photographer and took this picture during a maternity shoot and wanted to turn it into a painting for my client. I have painter X but have not had the time to figure it all out pretty complex I need to get a book actually. Anyway i downloaded the starter edition and was trying to work on this pic. I worked on the hair, rose and covering on her legs below her belly. But not sure how to attempt to do the skin. I think because I amusing the starter edition I am limited.

Here is the photo and the image I am working on.

Did these effects in my PSP XII but still not the effects I want.

Here it is in BW

I took the BW and turned it into a pencil drawing in PSP XII like this

However wasn't too pleased with the pencil effect

Using ArtRage and not finished

Here I did the lips next not sure if they are right?

I bought the Corel Painter X to get the watercolor and paining looks but this Art Rage looks more user friendly. Anyone use both and think the same? I think the skin tones I can't get unless I upgrade is that true?

what steps would I take to get flesh skin tones on her? and define the edges of her body?

Any critique would be great thanks

UPDATE: See page 2 for finished painting
    Last edited by primeau95; 01-30-2009 at 07:46 AM.

Gallery
    View images
    What do you mean by upgrade? You mean buy the program and get all the features? Yeah. I'd say.

At the very least layers are pretty much a must as far as I'm concerned in all cases.

I'm really not sure where you're going with this, the photo being so amazingly cool. Are you trying to make it look really painterly, sketchy or tight, like a tinted photo? Or are you just playing around?