Thread: Canvas Sizes

Gallery
    View images

Canvas Sizes

Hi folks, I'm new to Artrage and am having major problems figuring out canvas sizes and imported photo sizes. I posted here a couple of days ago but it still hasn't clarified things so any help would be greatly appreciated. I intend to make horizontal A3 sized prints of my work so I've been putting the canvas dimensions as W:420mm x H:297mm is this correct and also is there a reason why when I type dimensions into the boxes a little more gets added on? For instance when I type in the above dimensions they will only go in as 420.16 x 297.04. The way I work is by importing photo's and then creating oil painting around and within the image but I'm having real issues with importing the photo at the right scale for the canvas. I have a photo which says it's 1024x768(pixels) which means it should print at roughly 3x2 inches but when I type 1024x768 pixels into the canvas size box and then convert it to inches to check, it comes up at around 30inches. I really am baffled as I need the photo to be in proportion to the canvas or it will be completely wrong when printed. Apologies for the rather convoluted post but as you can tell I'm very confused Thanks a lot and take care. Jason.

Gallery
    View images
    Quote Originally Posted by 1Being1 View Post
    I have a photo which says it's 1024x768(pixels) which means it should print at roughly 3x2 inches but when I type 1024x768 pixels into the canvas size box and then convert it to inches to check, it comes up at around 30inches.
    The number of pixels can only tell you the printed size if you also take in to account DPI, which is 'the number of pixels to print per inch'.

So 1024 x 768 at '300 DPI' (300 pixels per inch) comes out at around 3 inches by 2 inches (1024 split in to chunks of 300 per inch), but if you use the default DPI of 72 you get way more inches because you have 1024 pixels split in to chunks of 72 per inch.