ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: intuos 3 size

intuos 3 size

Hello,

I am new to Painting and Sketching and found this wonderfull software, I am now wanting to look at purchasing a intuos 3 tablet. But I am unsure if I should get the 4x5 or the 6x8.
    I am on a small budget, so if the 4x5 if okay I will look at that.

Just wanted to know from intuos users if it is a mistake to look at the 4x5.

Also the Graphire 4 is cheaper, should I look at one of those?
    Everyone here seems to use the intuos though.

Regards,
    David

Hi Davoid,

I just went from a 4x5 (Wacom Pen Partner that I used for about 8 years) to a 9x12 Intuous 3 and I love it. True, I was able to work using the 4x5 but I was easily frustrated....A small movement of the pen across the tablet produced a rather large movement on the screen which was difficult to master. The larger size feels right.

I would suggest buying the 6x8 or larger if it is within your budget.

Brian

Wacom

If comes down to money and desk space.

The Intuos3 is very sensitive and also responds to the angle that you are holding the pen. This makes some tools far more lifelike.
    It also has a range of nibs.
    4.5 x 5.5 means that tiny lines on the screen need to be drawn even more finely on the pad, because it is a lot smaller than the screen. This can be improved by altering the zoom factor but a large pad must be so much easier.

My advice , oft given, is just stay away from the Volito2 if you can afford to. It's ok, but when the nib has worn down it's pretty well finished. A new pen is almost the same price as the whole original system.

People are still turning out wonderful pictures with the mouse, so don't rush to buy, it might be better to save up a little longer for a better pen.
    Luck is infatuated with the efficient.