Thread: talent

Gallery
    View images

talent

quick question, i was wondering how many of you have an art background or have taken art classes, and are there many people who are self taught? i see so many amazing pictures on this forum, how did you all learn?

Gallery
    View images
    I've always been into Art and have pretty much done whatever I could to learn more. Aside from the numerous books I bought, I've also gone to College for Fine Art and Graphic design. I had stopped drawing for quit a few years due to the amount of work I had to do, but suddenly got the urge to get back into things. Having seen so much digital art around, I thought it would be a good way to shake off the rust, so I bought a small drawing tablet and ArtRage soon after.
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

Gallery
    View images
    Hi Gordon, Welcome....
    I am self taught.......(still learning)
    I have to say that the friendly people on this forum helped me alot.
    Bumble on deviantART
    Bumble's Photos
    Friendship is the song in your heart and friends are the ones who sing it back to you when you forget the words.

Gallery
    View images
    Gordon, the gamut runs from people who were or are professionals to we amateurs. Pay it no mind ... just weigh in.

I studied architecture for 5 years and did a "foundation" year with lots of life drawing and formal training in drawing, painting and sculpture.
    It "taught me how to learn".

I've found books really helpful since then (and of course lots of painting and drawing)
    I also found that modelling in 3d has really helped my drawing ability

There was a documentary I saw a week or two ago about "virtuoso" music performers. Apparently when asked to add up how many hours of practice they had done in total from the age of 6 to 16 the figure was in the 7000+ hours range almost without fail for todays concert virtuosos!

That's averaging just under two hours a day for ten years during their formative years!