ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: starter edition problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4

    starter edition problem

    I downloaded the starter edition to try it before deciding to purchase but it won't open for me. It gets stuck at 50% when loading.

    Any suggestons? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rome/Italy
    Posts
    1,223
    Artrage for mac or pc?
    .
    //
    Stefano Fiore - Rome/Italy (Misterpaint)
    // Tablet Wacom Intuos 4 Medium- XP SP3
    // My Portfolio: http://www.stefanofiorearte.com
    // 3D Art Gallery for all artists (my web project) http://www.grifioartgallery.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4
    it's on my pc

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    Is there any error message at all? If so, what does it say? What is the last thing you see on your screen before it gets stuck? This may provide a clue as to the nature of the problem. Also, it would be useful to know what version of Windows you're using.

    If there is no error message and it just pauses:

    1/ Start up Windows, close down any background programs such as virus scanners and so on, in case something is interfering with the installation. Then try installing ArtRage.

    2/ Check that the installation doesn't complete if you leave it for 10 - 15 minutes. I've heard of this happening for a couple of users trying to install .msi files on their systems when there's been a problem with the Windows installer ( the part of Windows which installs .msi files like ArtRage ).

    You can also contact me directly at support@ambientdesign.com and I can see what I can do to troubleshoot it with you more directly via email.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4
    no error message...and I'm using Windows XP...no other programs are running...I'll try your suggestions...thanks very much

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rome/Italy
    Posts
    1,223
    TRY THIS LINK:
    http://www.nelcaos.net/artrage2.5starteredition_win.zip

    it is a possible problem with your ADSL.
    .
    //
    Stefano Fiore - Rome/Italy (Misterpaint)
    // Tablet Wacom Intuos 4 Medium- XP SP3
    // My Portfolio: http://www.stefanofiorearte.com
    // 3D Art Gallery for all artists (my web project) http://www.grifioartgallery.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    That's a good point. If there was a problem with the download, so the file is damaged or incomplete, that may be the cause.

    Check the size of the installer file by right clicking on it, then click properties and check what the Size is. If it doesn't match 7.84 MB it's possible that it is not complete. The direct link for the Windows starter edition is:

    http://www2.ambientdesign.com/files/...dition_win.msi

    So you could also try downloading again and saving it to your desktop, then double clicking to start the install in case that's the problem.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveRage View Post
    That's a good point. If there was a problem with the download, so the file is damaged or incomplete, that may be the cause.

    Check the size of the installer file by right clicking on it, then click properties and check what the Size is. If it doesn't match 7.84 MB it's possible that it is not complete. The direct link for the Windows starter edition is:



    So you could also try downloading again and saving it to your desktop, then double clicking to start the install in case that's the problem.
    still no luck and it is 7.84MB so it appears all of the files downloaded

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rome/Italy
    Posts
    1,223
    disable your antivirus and try again.... I dont have other solution for this moment.
    .
    //
    Stefano Fiore - Rome/Italy (Misterpaint)
    // Tablet Wacom Intuos 4 Medium- XP SP3
    // My Portfolio: http://www.stefanofiorearte.com
    // 3D Art Gallery for all artists (my web project) http://www.grifioartgallery.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    If nothing in the background is interfering, you may have a problem with the Windows Installer, which is the part of Windows used to install .msi files.

    Try installing and using Microsoft's Installer Cleanup utility in case there is a problem with a partial install: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301
    You will see a download link and instructions on the page above. Use this to check for and remove any 'ArtRage' entries, then try installing again.

    If that doesn't work, let me know.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •