ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Just no flow...

Gallery
    View images

Just no flow...

Hey everyone. I just want to get some input from others here.
    I am certainly no artist. In fact, my real ability is writing and I've been composing music for about 10 years, though not in any professional or formal capacity.
    I have always wanted to be able to draw/paint/illustrate/balance a canvas successfully, but I just do not seem to have the innate skills to pull this off. Whenever I have tried to paint something, it just ends up looking terrible. And yet, I can design a graphic interface for a VST plugin, using the inbuilt tools in a program like Real Draw, and it can look fine.
    I cannot translate what is in my head to a canvas, digital or otherwise. But I can sit and write an essay without a problem.
    I have all sorts of books on painting and drawing and they all make it sound so simple, but I am still frustrated.
    Perhaps I am simply running away from what I am really good at because the grass seems to be greener.
    I bought Artrage last year alng with a Wacom tablet to try and break some creative habits. I thought that if I could run interference on the inner critic, I could somehow come up with something worthy or even aesthetically pleasing, but so far, what I end up with seems immature and scrappy and that little voice inside just calls it 'pathetic' and 'stupid' and berates me for even bothering.
    Perhaps I should simply go back to the things I do best and give up on trying to expand my head in this direction. The truth of it is, that I was never great in Art at school, so perhaps I should just respect my real callings and give up. I seem to have inherited my mother's illustrative skills : stickmen and wobbly curved lines !