ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Colours appearing "washed out"?

Gallery
    View images

Colours appearing "washed out"?

Hi, I'm still new to this and maybe the answer is staring me in the face!

I am drawing a very basic picture as I still get to grips with the program and a drawing tablet, but I'm having problems with colours.

They don't appear on my pictures anything like they appear on the colour selection panel. I am trying to get a vibrant red at the moment but it looks washed out and almost brick red when it's applied to my picture. Same with black, it ends up grey looking.

I have used a very bright yellow and that appears exactly as it does when I choose it from the colour selection.

At first I thought it was something to do with maybe colours on lower layers interfering with colours laid on top, but that's not what is happening.

As an experiment I laid down black and added several layers above, all black, and it still looks grey so I know it's not the above that's a problem.

I am using felt tip and have chosen all manner of settings to do with wetness, pressure etc. But can't get my colours right at all.

Can anyone help please? Thanks very much

Gallery
    View images
    Are you using a tracing image?
    I got the washed out results you talk of here and din't think about how a white tracing image will dull the colours. Press "T" to toggle it on and off. Worth a try.

Gallery
    View images
    Hi there!