Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Error message

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Auckland NZ
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20

    Error message

    Using AR version 2.5.20 with Mac OS 10.4.11 I received this message as I tried to open a file: Error. An error has occurred on attempting to read/write data from/to a file stream.

    I checked the ownership & permissions for this file and all are read & write to the owner-me.

    I need this file to open it has a storyboard on it for clients.

    Any help much appreciated. Thanks!
    What really matters is what you do with what you have. (H.G. Wells)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,222
    Sorry to hear about the problem. Can you let me know if it's just that specific file that can't be opened or if this is a general problem?

    If it's just that file I'll get you some details on how to send it to us so that we can take a look at it for you.
    Matt
    ArtRage UI
    Ambient Design.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Auckland NZ
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20

    Error message

    Yes it's the only file I've had this happen-it's about 80 megs though. I may be able to post it on my imac mail account where u could download it-I'd have to give u a password to access the site though...this might be easier?
    What really matters is what you do with what you have. (H.G. Wells)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,222
    I'll send you an FTP address to a drop box you can put the file in, and we'll take a look.
    Matt
    ArtRage UI
    Ambient Design.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Auckland NZ
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20
    FTP yep great...Be interesting to see what's caused it/what happened.
    What really matters is what you do with what you have. (H.G. Wells)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Auckland NZ
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20

    Talking Ftp

    I've uploaded the whole file. Looking forward to a cure perhaps on that error message. Thanks
    What really matters is what you do with what you have. (H.G. Wells)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Auckland NZ
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by MattRage View Post
    Sorry to hear about the problem. Can you let me know if it's just that specific file that can't be opened or if this is a general problem?

    If it's just that file I'll get you some details on how to send it to us so that we can take a look at it for you.

    Anything yet Matt? Thanks
    What really matters is what you do with what you have. (H.G. Wells)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    I'm still looking into it, Bert. I have the file, and it gives me the error on loading.
    Just a FYI... I realized today that if you close the error message box with the 'X' button in the top-right, rather than click 'OK', ArtRage keeps the layer information it was able to load.
    That might be useful to know if you have future errors in files - at least you dont lose everything.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyRage View Post
    Just a FYI... I realized today that if you close the error message box with the 'X' button in the top-right, rather than click 'OK', ArtRage keeps the layer information it was able to load.
    That might be useful to know if you have future errors in files - at least you dont lose everything.
    Hmm... that completely didn't work this morning. Now what did I do last night that made that work?
    Never mind - ignore the above. I'd probably eaten too many Twigletts.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Auckland NZ
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20
    Yeah I tried it...trouble is I don't get an 'x' in the panel-I'm using a Mac.
    What really matters is what you do with what you have. (H.G. Wells)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •