Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Export quality bad - what's wrong?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    16

    Export quality bad - what's wrong?

    Hello,

    I looked around a little bit, did a couple of searches...not sure I know what I'm doing when I export. My jpeg's come out looking grainy, the brushstrokes look bad, etc. What should my setting be - 300dpi? it defaults to 72dpi. I was using 200dpi. Seems like no matter what I do my smooth brushstrokes come out grainy...any ideas for a newbie?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ossining, NY
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    414
    I experienced the same thing and was uncertain until I realized that my .jpgs were exported as if for the web. If you have another paint program that accepts .psd, the only thing that I found that "holds" your set dpi is to export image as a .psd and then save as a .tiff.

    I've also seen suggested here in the forum that printing on a high quality paper also helps.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    16
    Thanks - I'll try that. I have PS also, so .psd shouldn't be a problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    386
    Or use .png Export. It is lossless - but you will not have layers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,521
    Hi there,

    The current version of Artrage doesn't have a selectable quality setting for jpg images, so a lossless format like PNG is definitely worthwhile when trying to export at high quality.

    While PSD is the only format which will hold the DPI setting, if you export with any other format, you do not lose the number of pixels in the image, so if you're opening it in another program, you should be able to reset it to 300 DPI at no loss.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    16
    Cool, thanks Doodls and Dave - So basically export to PSD or PNG, then convert to jpg in another program, i.e.: PS or the like?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    386
    Yep. Btw. I haven't ever used the dpi settings - most progs are able to rescale to whatever size in inch/cm you want anyhow.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    16
    so all of your paintings are at the default 72 dpi? I didn't start messing with it until I noticed the graininess of some of my exports.
    Anyway, thanks everyone.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •