ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Stencil question

Stencil question

Hi --

I am fairly new to using the Stencil feature in ArtRage and I have a question. Sometimes when I am trying to make a stencil from an image, the stencil function makes a stencil of the border around the image instead of a stencil of the image itself.

Could someone please tell me if there is a way to get around that problem?

Thanks!

Stencil creation works off the dark and light points in your image. Where the image is bright the stencil will be solid and where it's dark the stencil will be transparent. It's possible that this is the case here, but without seeing one of the images causing it I can't be certain.

If this happens, you can try inverting the stencil, which switches the solid and transparent parts. If you right click the stencil and select Invert it should change.

If I've misunderstood the problem orthat doesn't fix it, could you post one of the images that does this when you convert it to a stencil here and I'll see if I can work it out.
    Matt
    ArtRage UI
    Ambient Design.

Could a picture like this be made into a stencil?

This is the picture I was experimenting with. It is a black and white photo, and I thought maybe if I got it to this much contrast, it would work. But all the stencil feature does is produce a stencil that is an outline of my friend's face.

Again, I am just experimenting at this point, but I wondered if threre is a way to make a stencil out of a black and white photo?

Thanks!

Anita
    Attached Images Attached Images  

I took your jpg and made it into a png. Then brought it into the Stencil part of Art Rage. The top picture is regular and the bottom one is inverted.

So your black and white does make a stencil. Used the airbrush to get this:

Name:  mansface.jpg
Views: 160
Size:  23.3 KB