Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Text with Artrage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    1

    Text with Artrage

    I'm totally new to artrage but it seems to me a while back I downloaded the free version and I either couldn't do text with it or couldn't figure out how or it was a hassle. So my question just is can you put text on what you do with artrage, both the free and especially the paid versions?

    And if so is it fairly versatile and easy to use like ay photoshop or paintshop pro or something?

    Thanks,
    Will

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ushuaia, Tierra del Fuego, Argentina
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    6,423
    There´s no text feature that I´ve found. Most seem to export to another program (vector or bitmap editor) to place text an image.
    The only problem with humor is that no one takes it seriously.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tiffin, OH USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    8,530
    Here's a way:
    Open a word processor, type out letters, numbers, etc ...
    Print out ...
    Scan as a jpg ...
    Move the file into the ArtRage stencil folder.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    U.S.A. North Carolina
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    1,950
    Export painting to photoshop or like software.. Lay text over top of painting on a layer of its own.. Save and reopen in artrage..
    Click Upper Right To Visit My Gallery

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    washington, usa
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    14,215
    It is pretty simple in the paid version of artrage.
    Make your text in your drawing program like Illustrator.
    Or text program like MS Word.
    Select your text and copy it.
    Open Artrage. edit>paste clipboard to layer
    It works great. I am on a mac so...
    On PC it may say something other than paste clipboard under the edit
    menu. Let me know.
    Now select the little black arrow next to the new layer. From the pulldown
    menu select make stencil from this layer.
    You now have your text in a scalable stencil you can use part or all of the text. You can even erase through the stencil.
    note: click on the magnifying glass to make the stencil larger or smaller.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    480
    Hi gzairborne,

    I'm on Win XP Pro SP3. I tried your suggestion (copy text, paste clipboard to layer). The trouble is, "paste clipboard to layer" remains "ghosted" (as if there is nothing on the clipboard). I cannot select this function. Any ideas? anyone else have this problem?

    I tried pasting text into another proggie I have, like PaintNet and it works, however I cannot paste text anything into AR. What gives?

    Regards,

    yvan_c.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    2,868
    I think gzairborne meant to say you should save the text as an image of some sort, so it could be used as a stencil (which you can see he has in his image).
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    2,868
    I don't know then... It doesn't work on my end (tried both Note Pad and Word).
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    488
    Sweedie you are right that works real easy...if you want it to be a stencil paste it to paint then save as png to artrage stencils ....BTW you can do this with any image to make a stencil

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •