ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Stencil question

Gallery
    View images

Stencil question

Hi there.
    I'm new to Artrage and have been playing with it for a couple of days, I just love it!
    I have a question about Stencils. When I use a stencil and I want to paint close to the edges, I keep accidently moving the stencil. Shouldn't it be stuck to the artboard and only move when you right click? Am I doing something wrong?
    I'm using a Wacom Bamboo tablet, also new, and I have kept the standard settings for the buttons. I'm not pressing any buttons and ithe stencil still moves... Any advice would be appreciated!

Gallery
    View images
    Glad to hear you're having fun!

You're correct, actually it should only move when you right click. Can you tell me what happens if you:

1/ Open ArtRage
    2/ Open the stencils panel
    3/ Click the "Friskets" Category
    4/ Click the first preview so that you see it appear on your canvas
    5/ Close the Stencils panel, and select the paint brush tool
    6/ Draw a stroke of paint across the stencil

If that appears to work fine, see if you can see what the difference is between what you were doing before and the steps above, and let me know ( like using a different stencil, the way you did the stroke, the tool you had selected ). That may give us an insight as to what might be causing this to happen.

You're also correct in checking that you don't have the stylus button pushed down. The spacebar is the other key which would normally drag the stencil.

Just in case, if you're using the tablet software which came on your Wacom Bamboo CD, grab the latest version from Wacom's website ( www.wacom.com ) and install it, then restart your machine and see if you still get the same thing happening.