ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Does anyone make any real money with digital paintings?

Does anyone make any real money with digital paintings?

I get some strange faces when i say im a digital artist. People dont want to pay for painting not done with real paint .
    I get this feeling like they think im a cheater. A fraud.
    Do any of you get this same reaction ?

Could you perhaps transfer your digitally created artwork into oil paint on canvas for example?

I was just wondering thats all, because the notion of 'cheating' is fairly universal. People have been historically conditioned to consider painting-on-canvas to be of value, similarly they imagine the computer is doing all the work instead of the artist digitally. Its ridiculous, but the only area where digital art is a valued skill seems to be industry and advertising.

If you can get work there you are OK. But on a brighter note, some members of this forum are already selling printed work on an American website.
    Do a search on the forum, there's a thread by RobertsWade which tells you how to...

Good luck

It's a hot argument.

If they are collectors, it's the difference between buying a print vs. the original. For rarity and thus price, it matters. Like owning a postage stamp or coin or a first edition. Even an earlier print in a single print run.

It loses the snob appeal. It's an artificial criteria that translates out into money, so to them it's real.

On the other hand, and in fairness, the surface of the best print is sort of slick and mechanical when you get close enough. That dimension is not yet reproducible.