ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Pencil problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    5

    Pencil problem

    Hello
    Love artrage and will continue to use and support your products. I've just got a new vista based computer and use a intuos 3 tablet with the latest driver.
    Whenever I'm doing quick loose sketches with the pencil tool, another line appears next to the first stroke I made. I never noticed this happening on my old XP machine. If you could shed some light on this annoying problem that would be great. Cheers


    Mark
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pencil_problem_169.jpg 
Views:	162 
Size:	161.3 KB 
ID:	13957  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,521
    Hi Mark,

    The difference between XP and Vista regarding tablet handling, is that Vista has Microsoft's Ink Services, which we use by default if they are present, rather than the older standard Wintab. it's possible that you have some settings in Ink Services or something related which is causing the strange behavior.

    What I'd recommend you do is make sure you have the latest version of ArtRage ( 2.5.20 ) from www.artrage.com/artrageinstaller.html

    If that doesn't help, create a file called no_ink.inf and put it in the Resources subfolder at Artrage's install location on your new computer ( make sure you have the latest version first or this won't work ). This will cancel the use of ink services and cause ArtRage to use Wintab instead.

    Hope that helps!
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    5
    I wasn't sure by what type of file you said to create so I made a new folder called no_ink .inf and seemed to of done the trick. Cheers!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,521
    I should've been a bit more specific there, sorry about that! That's quite right, any file at all will work, ArtRage just looks for the filename.

    That's great to hear, really glad it helped! I suspect you may have a setting or two in Pen Input in your Vista control panel at a guess which may be related to that problem when running under Ink Services, but there's not particular advantage to doing so, so the no_ink way of doing things should work just as well.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    2
    Posting on this as I have the same problem, have tried the suggested solution, but the problem persists. Any ideas what to do? I've updated, restarted, made a file called no_ink.inf first, then a folder, but the problem is still there.

    I'm thinking it's the extension... I can create a file called no_ink.inf, but the actual extension of the file isn't .inf, it's only a part of the filename. So, how do I create an actual .inf file?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    26
    You can do it using Notepad. When you save the file, put "no_ink.inf" as the filename, then in the "File Type" box, choose "All Files (*.*)" This will stop it from adding a .txt extension.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    2
    Alright, I managed to create the file with the extension .inf, but guess what. It didn't fix the problem. I'm clueless. Any way I can access this Ink Services program on my computer, or alter any settings that might make a difference?

    EDIT: It's working. For now, that is. I used the downloader link posted earlier in this thread, installed the latest version and created a no_ink.inf inside the resources folder of the new install, and all seems to be fine now. I'll keep you updated should any further issues arise
    Last edited by Kauil; 05-26-2008 at 06:23 AM. Reason: Supposedly found a solution

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,521
    Glad to hear that did the trick. This settings change will only work with the absolute latest version at this point ( 2.5.20 ) as we added the ability to disable Ink Services very recently. Older versions will just ignore the no_ink.inf file and continue to use Ink Services.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •