Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A network error occurred while attempting to read from....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    4

    A network error occurred while attempting to read from....

    Every time I try to run the latest upgrade, I get this error -- and end-up without the update installing. Please see attached screen capture for details.
    error.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,521
    Hi there,

    I would say the most likely reason is that the file you're trying to run is not complete or is damaged.

    I'd recommend:

    1/ Make sure you have disabled any download accelerators.
    2/ Download the full installer via www.artrage.com/artrageinstaller and save it to your desktop
    3/ Close ArtRage and double click the file you've just downloadedt.

    If you're still having problems, let us know:

    1/ Your operating system
    2/ The name of the file you've downloaded, and its size ( right click, properties )
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    4
    I got the exact same error again.

    I'm running Windows XP Pro version 2002, SP2

    Intel Pentium 4, 3GHz
    1 GB RAM

    The downloaded file (artrage2.5_winfull.msi) details are attached as a screen capture.

    Thanks for your quick reply.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,521
    Thanks for the info. As the file properties look correct to me in terms of file size, it looks like you likely have a problem with the Windows Installer ( a component of Windows ) which is preventing you from installing ArtRage.

    One precaution you could take ( if you haven't already ) is to remove any previous versions of ArtRage first. This isn't necessary to install a new version of ArtRage, but if your Windows Installer in general has got a bit confused, removing old versions may help. Also, as a generic step I tend to recommend closing down background programs and tasks when installing software, just in case something is interfering with the installer.

    When I web searched for that error message from your original post pertaining to .msi files when installing software, I found a couple of people recommending Microsoft's Windows Installer Cleanup utility and reporting some success. You can find Microsoft's information on this utility and the means to download it here - http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;290301

    Hope that helps!
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    4
    Thank you. I'll give these things a try and report back.

    I appreciate your quick replies.

    Warmly,
    Brian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    4

    The Windows Installer Clean-up Utility Did the Trick!

    Thank you! The Windows Installer Clean-up Utility Did the Trick!
    So now I'm up to date on ArtRage!

    Yippee!

    Thank you so much for you help.

    Warmly,
    Brian

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,521
    Glad to help, and really happy to hear it's working now! Thanks for letting us know
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •