PDA

View Full Version : any help with water please?

Wikash
06-24-2007, 09:40 AM
Hi! I can't paint real looking water. Or at least I'm not good at it. Can anyone give me advise or some help? Thanks by advance! :D

pai
06-24-2007, 09:51 AM
Hi Wikash,

There's a thread about this. Maybe you can check it out.

http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4314

Or visit the tutorial central, there're lots of nice demonstrations.

http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3767

Hope they help and keep have fun with AR. :D

Wikash
06-24-2007, 09:56 AM
Thank you! I'm going to take a look now. :D

Wikash
06-24-2007, 12:00 PM
Allright, here's another try. This time I menaged to make it more like how I paint with real paint. But it's still not good..

arenhaus
06-24-2007, 09:04 PM
Short answer: Don't use single green color.

Long answer: Go out and actually *look* at the water. You will find that open water, like the sea, has at least three colors.

One, usually green, brown, or whatever, depending on the murkiness of the water, depth, and color of the bottom, where you can see the water itself.

Another color is in the reflection of the sky. That depends on the color of the sky, of course; on a clear day it is bluish. On wavy water this forms crisp patterns. It is more pronounced when the sun is behind you than when it is before you. The smaller the angle of sight, the more reflective the water is; you see almost no reflection under your feet, you see 100% reflection at the horizon (but not at sea, where small waves always make some proper color seen).

The third color is seen in highlights from the sun (when it can be seen); it is the same color as the sun - white at noon, reddening at evening. Since you only see it where the water surface reflects the sun exactly in your eye, these highlights are usually tiny chaotic spots.