PDA

View Full Version : Artrage 5 install problem

sando
03-23-2024, 12:17 PM
Ive been running Artrage 5 for many years on a 2017 MacBook Air. Just recently I bought a 2024 MacBook air m3. I downloaded Artrage 5 from the members area but when I tried to install it I get an error message "The disk image couldn't be opened. There are no mountable file systems in the disk image". I was informed by Artrage tech support that the new m3 MacBook does not support Artrage 5 and I need to upgrade to version 6. However I have managed to both download and install Artrage lite and Artrage 5 demo with no problems, so surely the full version of Artrage 5 should work? This would lead me to believe the download in the members area is corrupted. Would it be possible for anyone from Ambient Design to check the download for ver 5. Really don't want to have to spend extra to upgrade to ver 6 when I'm happy with my purchase of ver 5. Many thanks, and if anyone has a solution please feel free to chip in.

markw
03-23-2024, 01:12 PM
Hello sando and welcome to the ArtRage forums :)
Well, I would hesitate to contradict AR’s developers if they say AR6 is the minimum requirement to run on an M3 based Mac.
Where did the copies of AR Lite and AR5 Demo that you say you have managed to successfully install come from?
The only current publicly downloadable Lite and Demo versions of AR that I’m aware of are both versions of AR6.
But if you really have managed to install any version of AR5 and got it to run, I would suggest you contact Tech Support again with the details, and possibly send them copies of the installers you have successfully used.

nekomata
03-24-2024, 12:47 AM
if you still have artrage 5 installed on your old macbook, you can try this route:

https://support.apple.com/en-us/102613