PDA

View Full Version : Actions to cycle through blend modes



c0ns1d1ne
05-06-2021, 05:07 AM
Hi all,

I just posted these in the scripting support forum in response to another thread (which the forum won't let me link to because I'm new), but then I realised that few people will stumble across them there, so I'll put them here too.

Thanks to RedSaucers for posting the original scripts which I used as a starting point.

RedSaucers
05-09-2021, 12:33 AM
This is excellent, I have added these scripts to my Actions folder! :)

Enug
05-09-2021, 02:36 AM
Firstly, thanks to c0nsidine for sharing these scripts. I have put them in my Scripts folder and then tried to open in AR but all I see is a quick glimpse of this window - the red text is what I see. What am I doing wrong? It seems the script is finished before I can start it.

101616

markw
05-09-2021, 06:24 AM
Thank you c0ns1d1ne Iíve just installed these Actions too. Really useful :cool::cool::cool:

@June, That looks odd? They worked here strait out of the box.
I know itís an old trick but maybe a restart of AR will get them working:confused:
One thing that might stop them from working is if you point AR at an alias of the script rather than the Script itself.
On my Mac I get an error message if I try loading a Script via an alias of it.
Most useful I found, is to put Scripts into ARís ĎActionsí folder for quicker retrieval from within AR while painting.

Enug
05-09-2021, 09:06 AM
Hi Mark - maybe it's me omitting to install the script correctly as it has been a long time since I played with scripts.

I followed this tutorial by Dave Rage -

When a script file is shared by another user, you should see a link in the post including the file ( filename.arscript ). Click the link to save the file. You can playback the script file by going to File -> Play Script in ArtRage, then browsing to the file you downloaded and selecting it to open.

I have also tried with the script in Actions folder and get the same result. Must be something I'm doing or not doing if you and Red have been able to install it. I can see the script in Notepad and that is as far as I get. :confused::confused:

c0ns1d1ne
05-09-2021, 09:51 AM
This is excellent, I have added these scripts to my Actions folder! :)

Thank you c0ns1d1ne Iíve just installed these Actions too. Really useful :cool::cool::cool:
You're welcome! I really think there should be a built-in command to do this but at least the actions are fairly quick to use.


I have put them in my Scripts folder and then tried to open in AR but all I see is a quick glimpse of this window...
Sorry, I don't know why that should happen. I made them in AR6 (on Windows but I doubt that matters). The files should go in the actions folder and then you can run them from the actions panel.

c0ns1d1ne
05-09-2021, 09:58 AM
I have also tried with the script in Actions folder and get the same result. Must be something I'm doing or not doing if you and Red have been able to install it. I can see the script in Notepad and that is as far as I get. :confused::confused:
You could try removing the initial comment marks "//" from the last line so it looks like this...

MessageBox(msg); // and MessageBox is a bit intrusive so let's just not bother.
If the action actually runs you'll see a useful but annoying message pop-up telling you what happened. If you don't see the message then I'd guess the action isn't running at all for some reason.

Enug
05-09-2021, 11:25 AM
Thank you that worked - sort of. The script doesn't cycle thru - is it supposed to? I have to keep directing AR to the script to access the next blend. I'm on Windows 10 using AR6 if that matters. I also see the 'ghost' image of the previous message I showed above.

101621

c0ns1d1ne
05-10-2021, 12:00 AM
Thank you that worked - sort of. The script doesn't cycle thru - is it supposed to? I have to keep directing AR to the script to access the next blend. I'm on Windows 10 using AR6 if that matters.
No, the actions just switch to the next/previous mode along. You have to run it multiple times to work through the list. I'm glad it's working for you. :)

It might be possible to make a script that actually does cycle through them and then you could stop it when you see something you like. I haven't delved deep into what is and is not possible with ArtRage's scripting.


I also see the 'ghost' image of the previous message I showed above.
I think that's because the script literally stops running until you click OK on the message box. If you put the // comment marks back to disable the message it should work fine. Ideally the script would pop up a little notification, which is what the line above is for, but the MessageTip() function seems to be broken and causes an error. :(

Enug
05-10-2021, 01:29 AM
Thank you I think I have it working now.:cool::cool: