PDA

View Full Version : colour blending option won't turn off?

Kate12345
12-20-2020, 05:30 AM
If I go to tools, colour options and turn on or off 'colour blending', it doesn't seem to make any difference. I want to layer dark, medium and light shades to create depth, but it continues to mix them. The doesnt work well with fur and hair, especially if I am layering paint on the same AR layer. I find I am having to create a new layer each time then merge them. I did this cat almost entirely in AR but couldn't get the depth effect in AR, so gave up and went back to photoshop to finish painting it.

I also found it difficult to be subtle with the paint, as I like to be fairly photorealistic. I really struggled with the legs, although the back and tail were fairly OK. face too was ok in AR, but I find i am having to use photoshop to finesse the painting. I'm sure its because I am not experienced enough, but I find even the pencils don't get the clean line I want. It maybe because the paint is mixing despite 'colour blending' turned off? The colour blending is also turning creamy colours green when I am trying to blend in a blue grey colour. Any advice? Tia100750

markw
12-20-2020, 07:20 AM
Hi Kate,
The Colour Blending option you can toggle On/Off is actually ‘Real Colour Blending’. When ‘On’ yellow + blue will give you green. Off and it will give you something “greyish” containing elements of both colours.
Either way any new paint will always blend with existing paint.
As an alternative to, or in addition to, using separate layers to avoid accidental mixing have you tried the Oils with “Instadry” turns On?
Bellow is a quick example of RCB On and with it Off.

I’m thinking you may have to get into more specific examples of what you are after with the pencil?
Perhaps a screenshot or two, say in PS and from AR so we can see what you have and what you are aiming for?

Somerset
12-20-2020, 01:54 PM