PDA

View Full Version : Today's work!

Kieran
05-04-2016, 09:50 AM
Hey everybody, I'm 21 years old from England, I'm new here and new to Artrage, I've made one other painting before this but it's a completely different style and I'm not sure if I'm happy with it, all three images were painted from imagination with no reference/trace. I've been drawing for about 6 months but only using artrage/graphics tablet for the last week or so.

This was my first one, it was a total experiment and after completing the sea/sky I decided it was missing something so I attempted to draw a boat! Draw time : 2 1/2 hours
Completely hooked on painting I started a new canvass straight away.

I experimented with light reflection here and I was really pleased with the outcome, I feel like I managed to capture the ripple effect of calm waters as well as display the light shining from the moon.
Draw time: 1 hour

My third and final painting from today, I think I did a pretty good job of the firewood but I wasn't overly pleased with the fire, or the glowing eyes in the dark so I could definitely use some pointers there!

All in all I'm quite pleased with the progress I'm making and I'm picking up what the tools do as I go along, I've never painted analog before so this is a completely new experience for me but so far I'm loving it, please don't hold back with your constructive criticisms!

jmac
05-04-2016, 11:46 AM
Hello Kieran and welcome to the forum. The most important thing you have going for you is imagination. The technical stuff you will pick up over time and practice. Good luck with your discoveries.

D Akey
05-04-2016, 01:27 PM
Looks like you're getting a feel for the tools. It happens over time just by doing. Suddenly one day the mechanics of it all just sort of drop away and you're just painting.