PDA

View Full Version : Landscape

Delofasht
04-03-2015, 01:20 PM
Hello everyone, this is my first attempt at painting anything in ArtRage after getting my brushes where I wanted them to be and figuring out a basic approach. So after figuring out how everything worked (amazingly pretty close to how I used to paint traditionally years ago, though I never got very good back then), I decided I would so something that is comfortable to me.

I actually had to make some very specific brushes to get the effects I wanted. I generally work from thin light coats of paint to thicker more textured coats and then blend it back and add some thick stuff at the very end to get some texture back into the painting. Started with a pretty thin Block in Brush, 100% loaded so I could scribble it out, I'm in the middle of the Build up stage right now throwing some basic lighting and attempting to build some interesting colors in the clouds while keeping them somewhat transparent in some spots. I really thought this would be a bit easier in some areas but oh well. The lighting is done with super cheaty digital steps (color dodge layer and an airbrush :D ), and I smudged a bit of the foreground with a blur palette knife.

Moving forward, I will be attempting to keep this in as much traditional methods as I can except that I'm not mixing every color on a palette. Can't seem to find a color palette with a mixing tray. Oh well. . . color picker it is for now.

- Delofasht

Delofasht
04-03-2015, 02:35 PM
I FOUND IT!!!! Open up References window, make a scrap page, throw the colors you are using as your palette on to it and mix away with a palette knife! YAY! Don't need to use the color picker now!

This is by far the best feature I've found about this program. . . now I wonder if I can tone my palette so I get mixes consistent with my canvas color. Hmm...

Enug
04-03-2015, 04:18 PM