PDA

View Full Version : Blurring chalk



HelenAA
02-22-2015, 10:08 AM
Is there a way to smudge/blur the lines when using chalk? I've tried quite a lot of things but nonework.

I'm on an iPad.

Helen

Enug
02-22-2015, 04:30 PM
The soft palette knife presets should work for you - this example is the default setting.

85620

D Akey
02-22-2015, 09:35 PM
I don't know anything about the iPad version. I've never used one. But the regular computer version has a tool called "knife" which the tool looks like a palette knife which has various parameters and behavior (including editable presets) for smearing and dragging creating anything from a blur to a dry brush over a toothy paper look. If you're after a natural media look, your settings will likely get you there with a little experimentation. There might be something like that there.

Another way to just blur it is to make a selection from pull-down menu Tools/Select Tools/Selection which brings up a pop up with choices. The amount of feathering of the selection is up to you, and then select from the pull-down menu Edit/Blur Layer. That will be a smooth blend. All depends on what you're after.

Like I said I don't have an iPad, but here's something like what you may see. It's the tools I'm talking about.

Hope this helps.

HelenAA
02-22-2015, 09:46 PM
I don't know anything about the iPad version. I've never used one. But the regular computer version has a tool called "knife" which the tool looks like a palette knife which has various parameters and behavior (including editable presets) for smearing and dragging creating anything from a blur to a dry brush over a toothy paper look. If you're after a natural media look, your settings will likely get you there with a little experimentation. There might be something like that there.

Another way to just blur it is to make a selection from pull-down menu Tools/Select Tools/Selection which brings up a pop up with choices. The amount of feathering of the selection is up to you, and then select from the pull-down menu Edit/Blur Layer. That will be a smooth blend. All depends on what you're after.

I would put up screen shots but like I said I don't have an iPad.

Hope this helps.

The iPad version doesn't have drop down menus, in ArtRage or any other app for that matter.

D Akey
02-22-2015, 09:47 PM
Oh, I didn't know that. Oh well. :rolleyes: Then perhaps Enug's way is THE way.

Saphire
02-22-2015, 11:12 PM
HellenAA,
there are tools in the ipad version if you press first on the pallette knife then press the two little wheels on the bottom row it will bring up the the menu.
85624

HelenAA
02-23-2015, 01:50 AM
The soft palette knife presets should work for you - this example is the default setting.

85620

I can't get it to do anything like that, Enug. It may be that on a desktop version, but not on the iPad. :(

Saphire
02-23-2015, 02:15 AM
HelenAA, i have posted above on how to do the sam thing on the ipad.