PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to edit out the undo in the playback script



kismef
01-04-2013, 11:23 PM
Hi, I am doing a video scribing style of drawing animation and have to record the process of the drawing in its entirety. I know there is a way to comment out the zoom and canvas movement from one of the previous thread. I was wondering if it is also possible to comment out the undos as well.

AndyRage
01-08-2013, 06:25 AM
To delete an 'undo' event from a script you need to delete both the 'undo', and the stroke before it which you undid while recording.
Look through your script for a line similar to this:
Wait: 2.439s EvType: Command CommandID: Undo

That is the actual undo event. (The Wait: time will be different in yours)
Just above the 'undo' command you will find whatever it is you're undoing. If it's a stroke of paint you will see a block of stroke points looking something like this



<StrokeEvent>
<StrokeHeader>
<EventPt> Wait: 0.697s Loc: (652, 446) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0 Rv: NO Iv: NO </EventPt>
<Recorded> Yes </Recorded>
<RandSeed> 0x000000002, 0x000000000 </RandSeed>
<Smooth> Count: 3
Loc: (639, 446) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0
Loc: (632, 446) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0
Loc: (627, 446) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0
</Smooth>
<PrevA> Loc: (697.083, 344.894) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0 </PrevA>
<PrevB> Loc: (695.167, 344.788) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0 </PrevB>
<OldHd> Loc: (632, 446) Pr: 0 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0 Dr: (0.438983, -0.898495) Hd: (0.898495, 0.438983) </OldHd>
<NewHd> Loc: (639, 446) Pr: 0 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0 Dr: (0.825467, -0.56445) Hd: (0.56445, 0.825467) </NewHd>
</StrokeHeader>
Wait: 0.000s Loc: (663.5, 449) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0 Rv: NO Iv: NO
Wait: 0.018s Loc: (678.25, 456) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0 Rv: NO Iv: NO
Wait: 0.018s Loc: (690.125, 464.5) Pr: 0.75 Ti: 1 Ro: 0 Fw: 1 Bt: 0 Rv: NO Iv: NO
</StrokeEvent>


You will need to delete that entire block.
It's possible it was some other event instead of a stroke - you will need to delete whatever command or block precedes the 'undo' event. Note that if there's more than one 'undo', you will need to delete more than one previous event. If there is a 'redo' after the 'undo' then you can just delete the 'undo' and 'redo', as they cancel each other out.

kismef
01-08-2013, 05:23 PM
Thanks AndyRage, that is really helpful, though it might get too confusing going through the script if there are many undos. Guess might be easier to edit out the undos in post in an editing software.

Thanks again for your help. :rolleyes:

bitbutter
03-29-2017, 01:32 AM
I know this is an old thread but in case this is useful:

I've just published a little tool for stripping out unwanted 'Undos' from ArtRage script recordings. It's not very user friendly, but still a lot faster than trying to do it manually in most cases. You can get it here for Windows or Mac:https://github.com/bitbutter/UndoStripperForArtRageScripts/releases