PDA

View Full Version : Beginner's ArtRage Basics?

Starry_Eve
12-19-2012, 05:50 PM
Hi, I'm new to using art software and would like to know if there's a forum section for beginner dunces like me who's still struggling to figure out why the background layer disappears when I'm trying to drag down and merge it with my imported picture layer or how to move the stencil to the desired location on my canvas screen. It took hours of trial and error for me to get the hang of the masking tool too. I love the potential of ArtRage, but it's really frustrating when I can't even perform these basic functions. I've read through the user's tutorial, but it would help me more if someone could explain my issues in a different way or if there were clearer, visual examples maybe...? Please help!

copespeak
12-19-2012, 07:17 PM
I don't use the masking tool so can't help you on that, but not so long ago I was the 'dunce' who asked about moving the stencils. Bottom left, hit the Transform Tool, go click on the stencil, and enlarge, reduce or move it at will!

Keep working at it! There's plenty of help to be had as we all once been learners, and continue to do so.

Starry_Eve
12-20-2012, 03:22 AM
The Transform tool, that's it to moving the stencils?? Geez, I had assumed I could simply click on the stencil, hold it, and drag it wherever... Thanks for the lesson, copespeak!

Can someone explain to me about the layering process? I'm using the masking tool to compensate because my foreground and background pictures aren't merging properly. When I drag the foreground layer into the background layer, all I end up seeing is the foreground picture. Same thing happens when I import a foreground layer pic onto my background picture. This function should be simple too, but for me, it's not. It almost makes me want to give up and change over to a different art software program or else, just save up for Adobe Photoshop. :/

limey-g
12-20-2012, 06:00 AM