PDA

View Full Version : Children's Book

danVulanovic
12-06-2012, 04:03 PM
Hello, I'm new to ArtRage and art in general. I wrote a children's book and was looking to illustrate it. After looking at open source solutions I came across ArtRage Studio Pro, fell in love with the software and the amazingly competitive price(needs to be noted and applauded!).

You can see the whole book in my gallery: members.artrage.com/gallery_images/21201
(need to all http at the beginning since forum filters it out)

Thanks,
Dan

D Akey
12-06-2012, 06:30 PM
Congratulations! Very cool message. Bet you have a great sense of accomplishment.

Igor looks a little like Zack from Saved By The Bell, heh, though the personality is more like a mentor. Very cool.

Here's a link for anyone wanting to see the book. I've been around so long I can get away with the whole address. ;)

http://members.artrage.com/gallery_images/21201

danVulanovic
12-07-2012, 02:00 AM
Thanks a bunch! I'm pretty happy with the book. Never thought I'd be writing kid's books, it's crazy what having kids can do to you!

limey-g
12-07-2012, 02:56 AM
Nice job on the illustrations , it must be great to have the talent to write plus being able to do the illustrations also.
Geoff

danVulanovic
12-07-2012, 05:33 AM
Hey Geoff, Thanks for the compliment... but in all honesty, when it comes to drawing, I have close to zero innate talent.

I've always wanted to be able to draw, so I made an apple app (Poseable) to help me learn anatomy and such. When it came to this book I used it to block out every shot then drew and erased over them until I liked the result (as I progressed I did get more proficient). My first illustration probably took me 7 hours, by the end I got down to around 2.

It took me two weeks to write the book, then 4 months to draw it! I'm going to be releasing an instructable showing how I worked through illustrating the book. Not so much on the drawing, more on the entire process.

justjean
12-07-2012, 09:21 AM