PDA

View Full Version : making masks



pslane
04-04-2012, 04:14 PM
I found a thread about making masks and tuts for that but it was a thread from 2007 so I thought I'd better start a new one. I need all the info I can get about making masks and tuts if there are any.

Thanks,
pslane

screenpainter
04-05-2012, 06:56 PM
if you have ar 3.5 studio pro you can use the preserve transparency on a layer to make a mask.
you can also select a layer and paint where you want the mask and then do a select> layer contents.
then using the preserve transparency toggle you have a mask.

in ar 3.5 studio pro there is also a mask selection tool that looks like a paintbrush in the selection tools which will at least give you a way to make more complex selections.

I think those are the only current options for making masks.

hanzz
04-06-2012, 01:31 AM
In the august issue of ArtRageus, I published a tutorial on advanced selections. I hope that helps a bit...


http://www.artrageus.net/August2011IssueFINAL.pdf (http://www.artrageus.net/August2011IssueFINAL.pdf)

pslane
04-06-2012, 02:49 PM
Thank you. I just made 2 masks!