PDA

View Full Version : An American in San Felipe

P. D. Dinkles
06-11-2011, 06:47 PM
As a young student I recall an art project in which a shoebox served as the backdrop of a story we portrayed placing paper trees, houses, horses, fences mountains, etc. It was called a diorama. You probably made them as well. In painting this piece it felt like I was creating a diorama, in which the story is told in a limited two dimensional space in which the story is told.

This is a story of a returning veteran that spends a year in San Felipe in R&R, rest and relaxation, before he continues on with his life. No shamans, just tequila and talking cats.

It is also a tribute to the great people of Mexico for whom I hold my deepest respect. I imagine we were as great a people as they until something happened. We journeyed from the path with heart.

Now life is out of balance.

Koyaanisqatsi.

gxhpainter2
06-12-2011, 04:08 AM
PD - this is a powerful iconic work.. with all the symbols necessary to talk of opposition to the establishment, freedom and revolution ( Che ) and the gecko on the wall the seagull , the tequila bottle... lend a wistful quality of memories of past glories.... very well done:cool::cool::cool::cool::cool:. Using Alberto Korda's famous image of Che on the Mexican flag is an instant symbol that arises whenever there is conflict.

ScottF
06-12-2011, 05:48 AM
Very interesting and nicely done, P. D. Im a great fan of all Latin American folk art, and here you have captured it essence. Bien hecho!

S5T68IS2TA
06-12-2011, 05:48 AM
A classic with the forms and all the colors of Mexico. I guess a sincere tribute from your part. It's pleasant to the physical eye as well as the spiritual! Very nicely done fireman Dinkles.

P. D. Dinkles
06-12-2011, 07:40 AM
Thank you guys. You know how I admire your unique work.

S5T68IS2TA, I like your depiction of El Che in your gallery.

Paint on boys. Paint on.

pat1940
06-12-2011, 10:23 AM