PDA

View Full Version : Help achieving drybrush look.



momodot
11-25-2010, 01:42 PM
I have tried by playing with settings (pressure and thinner in particular) to get a dry brush look where you can see the individual bristles of the brush and can use it to scumble one color over another. I have not had success.

It can be done in Photoshop by using a brush made from a sample of some random spots to simulate the bristle spread of a dry brush. Is this effect of opaque paint scumbled dry over an other color obtainable with ArtRage Studio?

Here is a sample of what I mean:
http://i53.tinypic.com/29dbswh.jpg


Thank you.

Someonesane
11-25-2010, 03:00 PM
I made a couple presets for the Oil Brush, which I think work well for that type of effect. Here they are if you'd like to try them (an example of what they look like can be seen in the attached image at the bottom of my post):

50545
50546

ArtRage studio Pro allows users to import PhotoShop .abr files to use with the Sticker Spray tool, so you should be able to use any brush you saw that way, as well.

50547

momodot
11-26-2010, 11:21 AM
Thank you. I'll try those pre-sets asap. It is nice of you to share those. I got a mailing for a discount upgrade to pro but I don't know whether to save the money towards an iPad for ArtRage painting. The only pro features I could want is Photoshop brush import and maybe the ability to use Photoshop filters very rarely.

DaveRage
11-26-2010, 11:57 AM
Photoshop brush import is also available in Studio. You can access it by opening the presets panel for the Sticker Spray and choosing 'Import Photoshop Brush' from the menu.

momodot
11-26-2010, 01:06 PM
I was able to tweak those brushes for a perfect scumble effect. Thank you someonesane!

http://i51.tinypic.com/2cnch92.png

Thank you DaveRage re, the PS brushes. I had not read the manual being with ArtRage since the V.1 Beta. I tried my PS 7 brushes and there was an error trying to import any. Is that too old a version you think?

Someonesane
11-26-2010, 03:29 PM
I was able to tweak those brushes for a perfect scumble effect. Thank you someonesane!


No problem. :cool:

DaveRage
11-26-2010, 04:48 PM
Bitmap brushes should be able to be imported, if brushes aren't imported they are probably not bitmap brushes. However, could you email me at support@artrage.com with the name of the file you're trying to import and the exact text of the error message? I should be able to get a better understanding of what might be happening and help you further.

momodot
11-27-2010, 04:07 AM
I will email you asap. Thank you. I tried the standard PS7 .abr brushes such as Natural Media.abr, Wet Media.abr, Dry Media.abr, Square Brushes.abr. Maybe I must save out a single brush rather than these brush sets?

momodot
11-27-2010, 11:00 AM
someonesane, your pre-sets have lead me to a whole set of dry and "turped out" brushes that totally rock for scumbling and building "color texture" and broken-color. I'm getting natural media effects I've never gotten before. Thank you.

Literaturix
11-28-2010, 03:33 AM
Someonesane - THANKS for the square- and round-bristles here: this is awesome! Exactly what I need in the moment for a little flyer-design-work- JUST in TIME!

I'm kneein' on the floor.. happy and nearly biting one of the cats here...

Grinning:
Klaus

hanzz
11-28-2010, 04:58 AM
a cat ? go for it !
Looking good those brushes !!

momodot
11-29-2010, 08:04 AM
I just tried importing some free third-party Photoshop .abr brush sets to ArtRage Studio and they work just fine so maybe my Photoshop 7 native brush sets are corrupted or locked in some way to keep them from being used in other software. Wow! Being able to import brushes is a cool thing but what I was looking for was those brushes by someonesane. No cat to bite :(

Rowena
11-29-2010, 08:30 AM
I love these dry oil brushes - many thanks SS! :D

screenpainter
11-30-2010, 06:32 PM
Thanks SOS, for the oil brush presets. very cool ones especially on textured canvas. Nice to have in the arsenal. :)

mrphantuan
12-03-2010, 11:06 PM
Bitmap brushes should be able to be imported, if brushes aren't imported they are probably not bitmap brushes. However, could you email me at support@artrage.com with the name of the file you're trying to import and the exact text of the error message? I should be able to get a better understanding of what might be happening and help you further.
Thanks you so much !

paulwilliamwoods
08-10-2018, 11:08 PM
I was able to tweak those brushes for a perfect scumble effect. Thank you someonesane!

Thank you DaveRage re, the PS brushes. I had not read the manual being with ArtRage since the V.1 Beta. I tried my PS 7 brushes and there was an error trying to import any. Is that too old a version you think?

Hi momodot. I wondered if you'd like to share the settings you found for this? I'm keen to scumble.