PDA

View Full Version : Critique please

janetcwest
10-18-2010, 07:31 AM
I would like input from the group. So often I cannot see what is obvious.

My idea here is a moonlit sky with the focus to be the clouds. I'm ok with some canvas texture coming through.

How do I lead the eye through the paininting in this one?

What works here? what doesn't?

Composition comments anyone? - really I'm looking for help so please critique. (You all seem so kind you might have to overcome some of your kindness. LOL):D:rolleyes:
Janet

semd74
10-18-2010, 07:38 AM
I am an amateur here so not really qualified to give expert advice...the first thing i noticed in your painting were the clouds but had you not said that's what they were i would have thought they were mountains...hope this helps...good luck

pat1940
10-18-2010, 08:27 AM
Janet, I have to agree with semd, the clouds do look more like mountains, clouds are very soft and does not take up so much of the sky, try something on softer canvas (less grain) please dont give up I am looking forward to seeing your next painting, I hope this will help you......Pat;);)

pat1940
10-18-2010, 08:31 AM
Janet, I have looked at your other paintings and they are beautiful, you have a great eye for color, so keep posting ;););)

Peter Pinckney
10-18-2010, 08:45 AM
Hi Janet,

firstly please excuse me for taking a copy of your painting but I find it the easiest way to explain what I want to say...............................all the colours you have are great

janetcwest
10-18-2010, 08:49 AM
thank you both. Great feedback.

Here's the next attempt. Anyother feedback, all?

janetcwest
10-18-2010, 09:00 AM
Great idea for drawing eye in Mr. P., ....though I have more trouble getting the right look to those highlighted clouds in the back ground.

I love that you wrote on my painting........that's exactly what I would do.

Thanks all for help and positive comments. This is very helpful,so the tips are most welcome.