PDA

View Full Version : Cleopatra

Alexandra
10-04-2010, 03:51 AM
I just read one of Ann Rice's latest novels(or the latest for me anyway)- "The Mummy". WHEW!:o:o:o I had to go and do more reading on Cleopatra. What an interesting woman. Labeled The Queen of Kings by Cesare I believe, but I need to go back a do a bit of reading.

This is what I imagined her to look like, based upon a few internet references and help. Crayon play on cell. Knife for blending. Sphere string for wig.
Thanks for looking.:o

Jasminek
10-04-2010, 08:05 AM
Nice one. I always have empathy for this lady, it must have been very hard for her at that time. Look at us now, still women have a difficult time all over the world.

In my career in computer science, I went to school at the time that women were not encouraged to be in science. I was a configuration manager but still faced the so called "Glass Ceiling".

Many young women nowadays still are facing the same thing, actually worse when the unemployment is so high.

Cheers!:)

Alexandra
10-04-2010, 10:18 AM
Hi Jasmine, Yes it has always been a hard world for women indeed. This woman from what I read was quite a character. Very sure of herself, and for a woman to attract someone like Julius Cesare one of the most powerful men of one of the most powerful civilizations and have his son, then to move on to his son and have three of his children and ruling Egypt with a strict hand all at the same time. Her heart from what I read was given to Antony. No judgment from me as this was a time in another land, with so many differences. I cannot help but admire her, even though I would hate to have been in her position with Cesare and Rome the children going through what they did. I imagine the power and the wealth to be incredible. Her decisions were no doubt always perilous, but she seemed so sure of herself, I doubt she ever looked back. I wonder if history is truthful in the story of her death at the young age of thirty-seven?

SCP