PDA

View Full Version : How to paint skin

mannafig
04-02-2010, 11:35 AM
Hello everyone I am going to attempt a Tutorial on how to paint skin (Alexandra and Likoum)
I have never done a tut before so I apologise if I skip bits or forget to mention something:o

TOOLS
Airbrush
Palette knife
Eraser

Steps 1 and 2

Alexandra
04-02-2010, 11:47 PM
Thank you Amanda, great tutorial.:) Any preferences on type of canvas?

mannafig
04-03-2010, 01:19 AM
Hi Sandra I just use the basic paper setting on this one but other settings work just as well in my opinion depending on what look your after

Step 3 and 4

arenhaus
04-03-2010, 02:09 AM
Except that the color of *anything* makes sense only in its environment.

In blue light, skin will be blue. In red light, skin will be red. You have to pinpoint characteristics other than color to make it feel like skin in either case. Reflectivity, translucency, value and color saturation, etc.

You're trying to do generic "flesh" color here, and you haven't established any environment.

It's always a good idea to begin with the background, than the figure. It is easy to tie the object into its environment, but it's next to impossible to tie an environment to an arbitrary lighting on an object.

Bertie
04-03-2010, 02:30 AM
... It's always a good idea to begin with the background, than the figure. It is easy to tie the object into its environment, but it's next to impossible to tie an environment to an arbitrary lighting on an object.

Just to be sure that I understood you right: If I'd paint a room with e.g. a table, cupboard, window and a person - you'd paint the room and window first, eventually the person?

Likoum
04-03-2010, 02:44 AM
This is a good tutorial. I like the part with the tools settings and the result is good, thanks a lot Amanda :)