PDA

View Full Version : My first color portrait

Andrei_Stefan
01-09-2010, 12:29 PM
Well, I started drawing black and white portraits but this is actually my first attempt at drawing in color.

Raybrite
01-09-2010, 01:23 PM
Very nice. I still haven't grown that far after all these years. Keep it up. Is she someone you know?:):):)

Lima
01-09-2010, 01:23 PM
Andrei, very nice indeed.:)

arenhaus
01-09-2010, 10:09 PM
The definition about the eyes and nose (especially the bridge of her nose) is completely mushy, the lips are flat, the shadows are black, there are extraneous shadows on the forehead and other places, the airbrush is overused...

It's Loomis's "Drawing Head and Hands" time for you, sir/madam! :D The site's at fineart.sk as usual.

Andrei_Stefan
01-09-2010, 11:12 PM
Thank you for the critique. Well you were right about the airbrush being overused because this is the only tool I used for the drawing :). And the crayon for the initial sketch.

Alexwegs
01-27-2010, 02:56 PM
I really like this piece. You not only portrayed her face but also did her emotion and facial expression really well. I cant see much terribly wrong with it. Its an extremely good first atempt at color. My favorite thing to draw is portraits. :)

arenhaus
01-28-2010, 12:22 AM
"Well you were right about the airbrush being overused because this is the only tool I used for the drawing"

Check out Loomis's "Figure Drawing" and "Creative Illustration" then, too. He shows ways to use hard brushes to achieve much better results.

In brief, you don't have to make everything smooth. There are always some definite planes in a face that you can enhance and either downplay or promote, to get a much livelier painting than the smooth, bland gradient of airbrush.