PDA

View Full Version : Background / Foreground Plates for Animation

MikeMc
12-27-2009, 08:51 PM
I have started working on a composition for my latest animation. The different layers will be used for background and foreground plates.

Took the bottom two photos at my local botanical gardens. The banana tree photo taken in my parents garden. The palm trees taken from my apartment window.
I want to amalgamate these into a lush "foresty" composition. I can then use the layers in After Effects as plates for the animation.

I am not very experienced with painting vegitation, so any tips would be welcome.

MikeMc
12-27-2009, 11:27 PM
I've done a bit. Will post again later once I've put in more time.

MikeMc
12-28-2009, 01:23 AM
Been working for a few hours. This is as far as I've got. A lot more work to do on the foreground.

Time for Sunday lunch and nap :)

byroncallas
12-28-2009, 05:19 AM
Hey, nice work and love seeing your progression. I hope you'll keep posting your steps all the way through to the end. Instructive.

If you're interesting in vegetation suggestions, go to the tips and tricks section of the forum and review the many fine tutorials that have been posted there. Quite a few deal with flora of all types. They are instructive and fun too.

Great to see your work here. :)

hanzz
12-28-2009, 05:27 AM
Don't forget, for distant foliage you can easily use a selfmade sticker ! great going so far !

MikeMc
12-28-2009, 05:48 AM
Thanks for the input. I'll take a look at the tutorials.

Also will give the sticker idea a try - I didn't think of that. Maybe the banana leaves will work with a sticker or two.

Will be posting again a little later.

MikeMc
12-28-2009, 08:29 AM
Here's the finished product. I know I could spend a lot longer on getting it right, but I am working on a tight deadline for this animation, and fortunately animation is more foregiving than stills.