PDA

View Full Version : Missing Paper Grains(6th May)



jacktar51
05-06-2008, 09:59 PM
Appologies to all who tried to find the grains that were not there,here are the main ones that work best,(In my opinion) , these are the ones I use a lot in my pictures.....just take what you want, save to desktop first, try to see what you like,just load grain from desktop when asked what grain you want to use...if you like a particular one save in paper grains.....anyway have fun trying them out, they work best at a LOW pressure setting, as with all paper grain(high pressure wipes out the effect),use chalk on low pressure setting........Jack.

jacktar51
05-06-2008, 10:31 PM
Heres the paper grain for stonewalling, and a quick demo of how to use it....hope you find it useful......Jack.

jacktar51
05-06-2008, 10:35 PM
Quick demo of how to use the paper grain, and what it looks like used in a picture, .....hope you find this demo useful.... Jack.

jacktar51
05-06-2008, 11:11 PM
Rock face, craggy...

cornell
05-07-2008, 12:56 AM
Nice stuff!

jacktar51
05-07-2008, 03:06 AM
Thanks Cornell,sorry about those missing paper grains,I will pput more on here as I come to them....heres another one can be used as a lot of different things,a bit of a multi purpose one this, but I foond it good for doing hills and mountains in half distant....here it is with a quick hill done with the grain,in Artrage of course......the water effect is from PhotoFiltre,(under deform)....hope someone finds it useful....remember with grains to use light pressure setting or the paint just fills the grain in....also best used over a dark background colour,as with oil paint...... , anyway have fun.... next one coming soon..... Jack.

jacktar51
05-07-2008, 03:07 AM
this picture uses the craggy paper grain, very quick demo of what it can look like....

jacktar51
05-07-2008, 03:22 AM
Dont forget to switch your paper grain off before finishing....
or it will be all over your sky...

For anyone just starting, or who doesnt know....

to use a paper grain just save the picture of it to your desktop,
when you open artrage select new picture, select paper grain from the menu
down near the left hand corner there is a circle with grain printed below it.... click on that and select load grain from desktop...the grain will come up on your screen(also at this point I will just mention the little +/- sign next to the circle with grain printed under it) by clicking on the little +/- symbol you can change the grain from positive to negative good for shading or lightening you picture in different places in the grained part, you have to try this to see what I mean,but you have all the nescessary info now on how to load a paper grain you have saved to your desktop.....



if you like a certain grain you tried and want to save it in its proper place you need to save it in Artrage, re-sources, under paper grains...( thats in your program files section if you cant find it....or you can make a new folder and keep them seperate if you wish..... up to you..... hope you find this info useful ..... Jack.

RobertSWade
05-08-2008, 08:49 AM
Thanks Jack. Good of you to go to the trouble. :)

Rowena
08-24-2008, 10:37 PM
This is fantastic resource Jack, ...which I only found today :rolleyes:
..but So very glad I did :D

Thank you kindly!!!

misterpaint
08-25-2008, 07:28 AM
THX http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums/customavatars/avatar615_1.gif (http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums/member.php?u=615) jacktar51!!!!!

marie6065
12-13-2008, 01:17 AM
Thank you for the hints and grains