PDA

View Full Version : first post, first painting - FINISHED

emremeydan
06-28-2006, 09:56 AM
Hi there :D

I purchased artrage2 a few months ago, but didn't have the chance or time to use it much since now. Then, a few days ago i saw this forum, looked at all the great work you people have done with artrage, and got inspired. I decided start painting daily whether it's for 15 minutes or 2 hours, so that i could actually improve. Anyway, i started painting yesterday, and this is the first painting i've been working on. I spent around 4 hours on it so far, it's still a work-in-progress.

To simulate an actual painting, i decided not to use any layers and do all the work on one, i guess i like making things difficult for myself. I'm using a photo as a reference, but my initial sketch was a bit off, so it's not totally alike.

Many thanks to AmbientDesign for this amazing software :D

emre

*** The finished version of the painting is towards the bottom of this page.

Collin
06-28-2006, 11:29 AM
Sweet! I really like the bird's face. Excellent start. I look forward to seeing it as it goes along.

AndyRage
06-28-2006, 12:13 PM
Very cool painting, emremeydan. I like the detail you've put into it.
I know what you mean about self-imposed limitations. It can inspire you to greater things by limiting your options.
I look forward to seeing more of your paintings. Great stuff!

drzeller
06-29-2006, 12:38 AM
Very nice start!

When I started out, I used to have a "characterisitic" that I see in your painting as well. I am referring to the white areas between color patches.

I have noticed through observing others' work and doing some reading that it is common to paint a background across the canvas, and then begin the actual details. To do this after the fact, I have tried changing the color of the canvas to something that fits well with the rest of the picture.

On the other hand, if your intent was to have this as part of your style, then you have done a terrific job!