PDA

View Full Version : Stencils are fun...but...



ClaraG
03-27-2008, 09:23 AM
Ok, this may be quite a big ask. I have AR2.5, using Mac OSX, and I'm having a lot of fun using the stencils, and have also created a few of my own, using my own images.

I was wondering...(getting to the point, eventually! lol) is it possible to resize the stencils, or turn them around in other ways?

And also, is there another way of using a stencil many times, without having to "remove all stencils" and re-selecting it again?

Like I said, I am loving AR2.5 as it is, and this is just a general enquiry. :)

AndyRage
03-27-2008, 09:30 AM
You can move, scale, and rotate the stencils using the buttons in the bottom toolbar in ArtRage.
There are also key-modifiers on left- and right-click:

Spacebar: Move
Control: Rotate around the pin
Alt/Cmd: Scale around the pin

Right-click will also move a stencil, or bring up the stencil menu if you dont move.

I'm not quite sure what you're asking about re-using a stencil. Can you give me an example?

juliediane
03-27-2008, 09:46 AM
Ok..... I find the Alt key..... where is the Cmd key?

Sorry truely blonde here.

ClaraG
03-27-2008, 09:55 AM
Hi AndyRage! Thanks for getting back to me so quickly!

Regarding re-using a stencil..ummm... lets say I wanted to make a border, and use a stencil. I find I have to apply it once, remove it altogether, THEN reselect the same stencil again in order that I can move it down to join the first one. Also, say I wanted to do stars, again I have to cancel and reselect the same stencil. I just wondered if there was a way of moving the stencil to different areas so I could use it more than once without removing it.

Thanks very much for the other stuff/advice btw. I will try that out. :)

ClaraG
03-27-2008, 10:02 AM
Actually - its fine...its ALL good...I have got it sorted now! I should really learn to explore more, I am far too impatient to get painting first, rather than finding out what stuff can do.

Sorry to bother you - but thanks for your help anyways! :lol: :roll:

juliediane
03-27-2008, 10:09 AM
Clara, you can move a stencil by holding down the right click on the mouse. Hold it down while moving it.

AndyRage
03-27-2008, 10:54 AM
Ok..... I find the Alt key..... where is the Cmd key?

Sorry truely blonde here.

Cmd key is on an Apple Mac keyboard. If you're on a Windows PC then your keyboard probably has an Alt key instead.

We try not to be platformist. :)

Someonesane
03-27-2008, 02:37 PM
Actually, I don't know if this was ClaraG's question exactly, but it's something I've been trying to find myself, and that's whether or not there is a way to duplicate a stencil? Now I know I can always drag another one onto the canvas, but the problem there is they don't match the scale and orientation of the original. Sometimes I need a certain scale for the stencil and thus have to put them end to end. Doing this requires a lot of trial an error in getting the stencils to match up both in size and position. Is there an easy way to do this that I'm simply overlooking? If not, perhaps it's something to look forward to in ArtRage 3?

MattRage
03-27-2008, 11:45 PM
Slight side-point: The Cmd Key is equivalent to the Control Key on a Windows keyboard. Option on OSX is the equivalent of Alt on Windows.

juliediane
03-28-2008, 11:25 AM
Thank you Andy and Matt.

Julie

DaveRage
07-10-2008, 05:51 PM
Someonesane - It's not currently possible to duplicate a stencil which has been resized on your canvas, a good suggestion though!

dali
09-18-2008, 01:02 PM
Wouldn't it be possible in a round about way, to pull the stencil up, resize it to whatever you want, use it in a layer, make that layer a stencil and then you have a copy of the stencil in the right size? Then you can save it to disc after you use it. Of course just delete/clear/erase the layer you used it from.:D

hanzz
09-19-2008, 02:52 PM
Slight side-point: The Cmd Key is equivalent to the Control Key on a Windows keyboard. Option on OSX is the equivalent of Alt on Windows.

I used to have trouble finding the "any key", as Windows kept asking me to press it. I sorted this one out though.

clay_baxter
10-21-2008, 01:52 PM
Another possible workaround,
when you first create the stencil place several reference marks in each corner, when the stencils are the correct sizes they should all line up, this can help when doing a frieze as well,

Maybe we need a Frieze tool

Someonesane
10-21-2008, 03:01 PM
Wouldn't it be possible in a round about way, to pull the stencil up, resize it to whatever you want, use it in a layer, make that layer a stencil and then you have a copy of the stencil in the right size? Then you can save it to disc after you use it. Of course just delete/clear/erase the layer you used it from.:D

Very true dali and it's actually something I did end up doing a few times, but noticed that the new stencil didn't seem to retain the same amount of details around the edges (I'm not sure if its just on screen, or if it prints that way too). But it does make it easier to make them all the same size.

Rob in Denver
12-10-2008, 04:23 AM
Another stencil question--is there a way to invert a stencil? I thought I saw this back before I was using stencils much, but must have dreamed it.
When I say invert, I mean in order to work the outside edges instead of the inside.
I know there are other ways to do this. Just wondered.

Someonesane
12-10-2008, 05:03 AM
is there a way to invert a stencil?

Yes, if you right click on the stencil a menu will open where you will find the "Invert Stencil" option.