PDA

View Full Version : 1st painting

scason
06-13-2006, 05:55 PM
I'm new to the forum and this is my first painting with artrage. I swiped the idea from a image on the web but the rest is all me and a tablet PC. Please critique and comment. I am a beggining artist and need all the help I can get. Can one really learn how to paint with traditional material digitally? What I mean is , will the skills I learn with Artrage transfer to real paint? Thanks for looking.

Selby
06-13-2006, 06:03 PM
jeepers Scanson nice one-what a kickoff in the ArtRage world -like it a lot :)

you asked

Can one really learn how to paint with traditional material digitally? What I mean is , will the skills I learn with Artrage transfer to real paint? I say yes..many of them particularly treatment of light and textures and like all things you learn anywhere i think what you learn in ArtRage will inform all your other art(digital and non digital)..the things that will be different when you paint in the real world will be stuff like more setup packup time and mess, more physical space needed to paint, and no undo button :)

Selby

drzeller
06-14-2006, 01:26 AM
That's great first painting! Keep 'em coming!

D.

Aged P
06-14-2006, 03:46 AM
Can one really learn how to paint with traditional material digitally? What I mean is , will the skills I learn with Artrage transfer to real paint?.

Yes.

There are lots of ways to paint already, all with different techniques, advantages and limitations. They are not so forgiving or clever as ArtRage. Try buying a real canvas that will change color and texture after you've put the paint on!

The feedback you can get from this site comes in two flavours, technical and critical. The critical will improve your actual painting. That will help with any other method that you might try. You have some World class painters here.

What did I think of the painting?
I think it was great! That was not an easy painting to do.
Keep them coming!

bleepnik