PDA

View Full Version : How Long Is Long?

sweeneymini
06-06-2006, 10:20 PM
I'm just curious to see how long ragers spend on paintings?

I'm doing one at the mo that I've been on for weeks with many a flight hours spent, and I'm only ~1/3rd through. I'm just wondering if I'm a slow painter.

Fashmir
06-06-2006, 11:26 PM
Won't know that till you show your work will I?

drzeller
06-07-2006, 02:03 AM
It really depends on what folks draw, what they are looking for in their work (a work of art, or just some stress relief, for example), and how talented they are. When fooling around, I can create many "throw-away" paintings in short period -- but I am having fun or playing with a technique. On the other hand, I had a large floral one that I did that took two long nights -- which is about as long I normally spend on something I care about. I have a low patience threshhold! I'm sure the better artists here spend much longer - and get wonderful results. I have one detailed one that I am playing with now that I can only focus on for an hour or two each time, so total time may not be that long, but it is being done over weeks.

D.

bcmillustrator
06-07-2006, 02:49 AM
Usually, my paintings take 2-8 hours to do. I've found, however, that if I can tell if a painting is going astray in the first couple of hours, I will tend to throw it away and start over, whereas with natural media, I will tend to work at it more. There is no control-Z in the real world!

sweeneymini
06-07-2006, 04:43 PM
Won't know that till you show your work will I?

Heres a WIP then :?
Its 20% the original height.

and its of my niece (she's in the background. I'm not a zebra :wink: )

I'm thinking maybe airbrush for the zebras satiny dress, maybe mix of airbrush and light load brush for the hair & hairfur and a heavyloaded brush for Maisie's skin.

It would have been nice to get it done for father's day, but that isn't gonna happen.

Hypnomedi
06-07-2006, 05:07 PM