PDA

View Full Version : Photos protected for the copyright, as reference.

Jose_Diogo
01-26-2007, 02:45 AM
It would like to know if I can use photographs protected for the copyright, unloaded of the Internet, as reference for a painting or drawing.
I am thankful very, also, some link for small sites on the internet, that clarify me concerning the cited subject.

Thanks.

Bejay
01-26-2007, 10:28 AM
Hi JD,

I'm not an expert on this, but in my experience as long as the photography you are using is just for reference and the work you produce from it is just for yourself, then there won't be a problem. However, if you want to put that work in the public domain or try to sell it then you must try and contact the photographer and get there written permission.
It will also depend on how similar your painting is to the photograph, i only use photography as a starting point, to give me ideas etc... My finished work is rarely anything like the reference material i have used. At the end of the day, if in doubt and especially if you intend to sell your work, always get permission.

Bejay.

'If you hear a voice within you say 'you cannot paint,' then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.' - Vincent Van Gogh

Stephen Lo Piano
02-14-2007, 06:15 AM
You really should contact a copyright office in the country you live. In the USA I am familiar with copyright laws from personally registering over 100 natural and digital paintings/drawings.

If you are using a photograph of nature or scenery, no photographer has the right to copyright the scene, only the photograph they have taken of the scenery (you cannot copy the photo and call it your own). Yet the landmark and what is seen visually itself is accessible to anyone, therefore reference here is open to anything.