PDA

View Full Version : How to Playback iPad Scripts on iPad or Mac?



Jeremy Sutton
02-02-2012, 02:10 AM
Hi,

I created a painting on the Artrage for iPad app (on iPad2 using Nomadbrush stylus) with Record Script checked. I then clicked on the Export menu in the gallery and selected Export Recorder Script, sending it via email to myself. On my MacBook Pro I then tried to play that script using Artrage Studio Pro (just installed). The script started playing for a few seconds and then stopped with an error message: "Script Error at file end: <PrevB> block not closed. Was opened on line: 0". Does anyone know how to successfully record and playback scripts in Artrage on the iPad2 and then successfully export and replay them in full on the Artrage Studio Pro on a Mac? Thanks for any advice!

Cheers,
Jeremy

DaveRage
02-02-2012, 02:56 AM
Hi Jeremy,

It could be that the script file incomplete or damaged looking at that error message. I'd recommend exporting the script to iTunes then copying it across to your desktop computer and opening it in the desktop version via File -> Play script to check that the file wasn't truncated in email.

You can export to iTunes via the ArtRage gallery in the iPad app. Then, dock your iPad with your desktop computer. Open iTunes on your desktop computer, open the iPad from the left hand navigation bar, then click on 'Apps' across the top bar. Scroll down to 'Shared files'. Select ArtRage and on the right hand side you should see your script along with your paintings.

Save the script to your desktop machine, launch ArtRage, then go to File -> Play Script. If you still get the problem, zip up the script file and if it's 10MB or less, please email it to me at support@artrage.com and we'll take a look at it for you. If it's larger, let me know.

Mart Kelly
03-18-2012, 03:26 PM
Hi, I'm also having problems playing scripts. I'm exporting from my iPad to mac via iTunes but when I go to play the script it says I should be using Studio Pro. Which tools in the iPad version are not compatable with ArtRage Studio?

DaveRage
03-18-2012, 09:56 PM
A message will appear when playing scripts back in Studio that have been made in different ArtRage versions as a warning that features may not be supported, but the script will still play unless there is a problem with the file. The only features which are in the iPad version which aren't in Studio are two palette knife modes - wet and blur.

Mart Kelly
03-24-2012, 07:19 AM
Thanks for the reply Dave. It's good to know this. I must admit, the only reason I bought the mac version of ArtRage was so that I can play back and make movies of the paintings I make stage by stage. That's why I like Brushes on the iPad. I realise there are limitations with memory on portable devices but have been really impressed by the quality of the paint effects in ArtRage.

screenpainter
03-26-2012, 08:02 PM
very helpful. thanks for clarifying the difference between studio and studio pro for playback of scripts Dave.