PDA

View Full Version : Update



D Akey
11-04-2006, 06:41 PM
Wow. Now there's a pleasant surprise!

My updater told me there was a new update.

The description looks promising. Can't wait to try it all out, especially the blends.

Thanks for being on it. :D :D :D :D :D

cripster
11-04-2006, 11:56 PM
Mine says no new updates i'm up to date might try the updater

spitfire31
11-05-2006, 12:25 AM
Hm, supposed to be 2.2.9, right? But after updating just now, 'About...' says 2.2.8.

Also, with my Wacom Graphire 4 XL, the eraser on top of the pen still just works the same as the stylus - if I have a brush selected in the tools palette, it works as a brush. :roll:

In Photoshop CS2, it works as expected, i.e. shifts automatically to the Eraser tool.

It would be nice to have it do the same in ArtRage.

Regards,

Joey

G4 1.3 GHz, 10.4.8

D Akey
11-05-2006, 01:02 AM
Oh yeah... mine says 2.2.8 also. I hadn't looked. Assumed the update handled all that.

I'm still running about today, so I have yet to see what's new and how they play.

Still optimistic and joyful. :D :D

cripster
11-05-2006, 04:29 AM
Hey DA are you running a Mac or PC? can't remember

heikki
11-05-2006, 05:06 AM
:)

I use pc and windows. Mine comes 2.2.9 ok.

:)

D Akey
11-05-2006, 11:26 AM
I call it Mac-aroni. OSX 10.4.8

The update has all the PS layer features like multiply and all that. Still bopping around with it.

Very cool.

I'm guessing that the PC version got a different number is all. Probably the same features as what I have as 2.2.8.

spitfire31
11-05-2006, 11:38 AM
Yes, having all the Photoshop blend modes is ubercool!

But not being able to use the pen eraser feature is somewhat less cool...
:roll:

And it would be nice to have 'Open recent...' in the File menu.

//Joey


G4 1.3 GHz 10.4.8 Wacom Graphire 4

justG
11-05-2006, 04:17 PM
http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3045

The eraser tip should work now.

spitfire31
11-05-2006, 06:14 PM
http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3045

The eraser tip should work now.

That's was my understanding as well.

But it doesn't, on my system.

It works as expected in Photoshop, as I mentioned and there are apparently no programme specific settings for Graphire in OS X.

//Joey

justG
11-08-2006, 04:25 AM
Eh? I have a first-gen Graphire on OS X, and can easily add application-specific settings to my Wacom Tablet preference pane in System Preferences. Am I just misunderstanding what you're saying?

DaveRage
11-08-2006, 04:52 AM
Spitfire - Send me an email to support@ambientdesign.com with your system specifications ( Type of Mac, OS X version ) and the make and model of your Graphire and I'll be glad to check it out with you.

spitfire31
11-08-2006, 09:50 AM
Hello Dave et alii,

The riddle has been solved please also see thread <www2.ambientdesign.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3112>.

It seems that I had created a custom folder (ArtRage2.2) in Applications for my original installation of ArtRage 2.2, and put an icon of the app in the Dock.

As I tried to update what was apparently 2.2.8 to 2.2.9 using ArtRage Updater from my custom folder, I was a bit surprised that the Updater triggered the Mac OS Installer as well, but didn't think about it further and was surprised that ArtRage was still at 2.2.8 when I launched from the Dock.

Turned out that _another_ folder had been created by the Updater, ArtRage 2, where I eventually (after Andy's advice) found 2.2.9.

Perhaps it would be a good idea if the Updater were updated to automatically find the installed ArtRage app and update it (like Photoshop and many other apps do).

But basically, mea culpa... :oops:

Regards,

Joey