PDA

View Full Version : What to look for in a Tablet?

hoodoo
07-26-2006, 05:49 PM
I am new to ArtRage but a long time doodler (read in: no actual talent) and I think I would have more success with a tablet. Price is a concern, but I am more concerned with features. For those of you that have tablets, what are the key things I should look for? I know I have seen pressure sensitivity as a "seller" on some tablets, does this matter? Those are the kinds of questions I have. Thanks.

Aged P
07-26-2006, 06:06 PM
Hi HooDoo,

Pressure sensitivity is important, buy the most levels you can afford.

Tilt detection is a nice extra, but you can live without it.
Works well with the Pencil and the Airbrush.

Watch out for systems that look cheaper than you expect, when the nib wears down you may have to rebuy the whole thing.

A lot of people use tha Wacom Intuos3, including me. but there are bargain buys which will also do the job well.

The pad size depends more upon what desk space you have than anything else.

There are a lot of Pros on here who know everything about this.
My answers are based on my experience in changing from traditional amateur painting to ArtRage.

ENCHANTER
07-26-2006, 07:31 PM
i got the cheapest Wacom, Volito 2....
its a great value starter, but great for learning pen and tablet,

but i think the nib has starting to wear........

but would rather have an A5 Wacom, Intuos 3..saving up for it :D

thesleepless
07-26-2006, 08:15 PM
i've got an A6 wacom graphire2 which works nicely (until i lost the pen, waiting for my replacement now)

the intuos looks lovely but a bit out of my price range unfortunatly, but supports tilt and has airbrush pens etc

i prefer the smaller sizes, i've used the larger ones but i find it harder to use, but i suspect it depends on your style

Improv
07-27-2006, 06:48 AM
Hi HooDoo,

Watch out for systems that look cheaper than you expect, when the nib wears down you may have to rebuy the whole thing.